I Love Your Style: Adira Amram

Adira performs at Hot Tub with Jessi Erian and Maresa D'Amore-Morrison, in one of her favorite "looks"! Photo by Eric Michael Pearson

I LOVE YOUR STYLE
By Giulia Rozzi

Style is an extension of your persona. When you’re onstage exposing that persona, what you wear can say a lot about who you are. I think lady comics have some killer style, in this new column I’ll pick one fabulously fashionable funny female to invite us into her closet to discuss her style inspirations and to offer up some garb for grabs.

This week’s style spotlight: ADIRA AMRAM!

Adira is an onstage dynamo. Her booty-shaking tunes and high energy performances make her a crowd favorite. This gal has performed abroad, has a kick-ass album out called Hot Jams For Teens, and was recently the support act for the North American Tour of Kid Koala Presents: The Slew. Known for her vibrant and flashy wardrobe, Adira has a got a look that’s as unique and fun as her performance.

GIULIA: I love your style!
ADIRA: Thanks!

G: How do you think your style reflects who you are/what does your style say about you?
A: It says have fun! Why not? Do whatever you want!

G: I think I know the answer to this one, but—is your onstage wardrobe different than your day-to-day clothes?
A: Yes.

G: What’s your favorite onstage outfit?
A: Spandex, neon, sequins. I like cuts that flatter my body shape. And Spandex is easy to dance in.

G: What’s your favorite off-stage outfit?
A: I love 50’s dresses.  Also obsessed with Levi’s black leggings, NOT JEGGINGS.

Adira lays out her clothes to pack her bag for Night of the Living.

G: Who or what are your style inspirations? Any favorite designers?
A: I’m very inspired by dance wear from the ’80s & ’90s. And I love, LOVE M.I.A’s style. She’s just great. I’d also add a touch of Lady Gaga.

G: What’s your favorite place to shop?
A: Salvation Army and Goodwill for both on- and off-stage. You can get some great designer clothes from there for super cheap.

G: What’s your most recent favorite find?
A: These shoes!

They are Miller and are from the 50’s,  I recently got them resoled and now they are like new!

G: Do you have any on-stage/off-stage style pet peeves?
A: On-stage people can really wear whatever. I personally like it when people dress up and look put together. Off-stage, I hate diaper pants. But I think they went out of style, I hope. I also hate anything too generic. I feel bad for people wearing really generic, boring, corporate stuff.

G: If money were no object, what would be your dream on-stage costume/outfit?
A: What I’m doing now times ten! I’d have more costume changes into outfits that were custom made for me. Maybe have my sequins replaced by Swarovski crystals.

G: Any style advice/anything you’d like to add?
A: Don’t be afraid to try different looks! I mean, especially in NYC no one cares what you wear, so have fun with your look.

G: Lastly, do you have an item you want to give away, sell or trade?
A: I bought this gown at the Housing Works on 23rd street.  I LOVE it but I really have nowhere to wear it to.  The brand is Khanitha and there is a Sack’s Fifth Avenue tag as well.  It’s a size 8 fishtail silk dress and it’s DYNO-MITE! I’m willing to sell it or trade.

That’s right, buy this dress and you have the distinct honor of saying Adira Amram styled you! Interested parties should email contactgloc[at]gmail.com.

You can catch Adira Amram & The Experience at the G.L.O.C. launch party on March 31st from 6-8pm at 92Y Tribeca. (Dress to impress!) Find out more about Adira at AdiraAmram.com.

Photo by Anya Garrett

Giulia Rozzi is a comedian, actress and writer who hosts the
popular sex themed storytelling show “Stripped Stories” monthly at the UCB NY and Dive Comedy every 2nd & 4th Monday at Freddy’s in Brooklyn. She’s been seen on MTV, VH1, and CNN, and has contributed to BUST, Glamour, AOL, HuffingtonPost, NY Press, the books Mortified: Real People, Real Words, Real Pathetic and My Parents Were Awesome, and the MTV series Silent Library. More at GiuliaRozzi.com

 

Join us for a party to celebrate the launch of TheGLOC.net on March 31st from 6-8pm at 92Y Tribeca (200 Hudson Street @ Canal)! Tickets: http://bit.ly/h4IfPF
About lizblack

Liz Black is an entertainment writer who lives in Brooklyn, NY. She has improvised and written several sketch comedy shows which she performed at the Upright Citizens Brigade Theater, and most recently directed the sketch group Gentleman Caller. She has a blog, www.whoisliz.wordpress.com, and she really enjoys NY1 and burritos.
This entry was posted in I Love Your Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

