The Nicest G.L.O.C. on the Block, Katina Corrao

Let’s talk to G.L.O.C. KATINA CORRAO about her new web series THE GOOD NEIGHBOR MINUTE and her mission to bring us all a bit closer to our own neighbors.  Ding dong… It’s Katina!

 

Hello, Neighbor!

What inspired THE GOOD NEIGHBOR MINUTE?

I have always wanted to play the nosy neighbor character in a sit-com. I relate to supporting characters in so many ways (E.G. : wardrobes!) To me, watching Edie McClurg (Mrs. Poole), Audra Lindley (Mrs. Roper) and Alice Pearce (Gladys Kravitz) over and over again is like getting a Master’s Degree in funny. Like most of us, I got up one day and decided to stop waiting for my opportunity and got busy creating it for myself. The idea started with a stage show directed by the fantastic Eliot Glazer. He helped me organize my thoughts and ideas to create a heartwarming but funny story for the stage. We had so much fun working on it that it was just a natural transition to make it a web series. (I was also highly inspired and encouraged by my friends Michael Cyril Creighton, Ann Carr & Sue Ball, all who have very successful web shows!)

What do you hope people take away from the series?

There’s a little (huge) part of me that really WANTS people to get to know their neighbors. Like, seriously, just show up with a pie one day and quit ignoring each other in the hallway!

Can you talk a little about the creative process overall?

Well, I must give Jim Turner a shout-out for being such a wonderful part of THE GOOD NEIGHBOR MINUTE. He not only shoots and edits but really contributes in all areas to help make this the best show possible. He and I share a passion for what we think is funny and we just go with it. I know I am on the right track because it all seems effortless. The ideas and interactions are specifically written for each guest and I try to write so their humor is highlighted and brought to it’s peak, but they always exceed my expectations by improvising. It’s always way too much fun shooting these episodes and I owe that to my super-talented friends who know no limits. Last but definitely not least, props to my wonderful Dad who comes up with the titles for the episodes.

What are your future goals with the series?

I would like to see Edie McClurg on an episode. C’mon, Edie, if you’re listening, life is short, just make my dream of being friends with you come true! You’re my hero and not in a stalky way, okay? I said okay, Edie? ALSO, STOP LOCKING YOUR DOOR!!!!! WHY CAN’T WE BE FRIENDS???…

What past projects of yours are you most proud of and why?

Specifically, I’d like to applaud Dream Role! Dream Role! is a show I co-produce with Glennis McMurray (you!) and Sara Jo Allocco. As you know, this show took off even before we started. I’m about to brag, but did I mention we sold out UCB LA? (that was awesome!) We truly want to see others shine and in every aspect of the production process we give it heart. It’s a show not to be missed and I am so proud to be a part of it. Glennis & Sara also helped me produce A Night for Dottie which raised money for the family of my friend Dottie who passed away from cancer leaving behind a husband and five small children. This touched my heart that they and many of our comedian friends gave so much of themselves to help me and it made me realize that there are people in this business who truly care about you, and I feel blessed to have them in my life.

What do you hope to see in the future from women in comedy?

I’d like to see continued love, passion for creating and true inspiration. Support one another! Have confidence in knowing that you can do anything you set your mind to. Do I sound like a Dove Commercial? Good.

Do you feel a divide between men and women in the comedy world?

Not really. Personally, I have always felt a part of the “comedy team” whether I was playing with the men or the women. I really try to focus my energy on my material and having fun and not so much on whose getting ahead and whose not. In my opinion, if you’re funny, and you give your heart and soul to each performance no matter how big or small the audience, you’ll always shine… no matter what gender you are.

What advice would you impart to ladies just starting out in the comedy world?

Never let anyone tell you you can’t do something. You can do it. And if someone does say that to you, use that as motivation to keep going. The moments in my life I am most proud of are the times people told me no. I politely said thank you through tears and maybe got disappointed for a while but I knew in my heart that they didn’t have the power over me, I have the power over me. Wow, where am I? I’m sweating. That was all pretty deep. (BUT TRUE!)

Who are you inspired by in the comedy world and why?

If you see me perform with someone, or work on a project with someone then I truly respect them and think they are wonderful. I’m inspired by my friends who do the work and don’t ask for any accolades in return. If all you want is a pat on the back for performing then I don’t believe you’re in it for the right reason. Somehow I’ve managed to surround myself with people who leave their egos at home, inspire me, and bring out the best in me all at the same time. What I love about working with the people I work with on the projects I do is that they are confident enough in their own skin and with their own talent to not tear anyone down, rather force you to give it your all. That’s a gift.

Who would you like to hear from on the blog next?

Robin Gelfenbien. She just returned from touring her show, My Salvation has a first name: A Wienermobile Journey. She is smart, talented, creative and one of the kindest people you’ll ever meet. [http://www.wienermobileshow.com/]

Anything else you’d like to add?

Thank you for asking me! I think you’re Fabulousballs! XO

Now watch the newest episode of THE GOOD NEIGHBOR MINUTE with KATINA CORRAO and fellow G.L.O.C. AMY STILLER here:

Then catch up on the entire series on KATINA’s personal site here.

About Admin

Founder/Executive Editor at G.L.O.C., co-creator of Dance Dance Party Party, performer, lover, den mother, certain to bust a mean move in your direct vicinity.
This entry was posted in New York City, Q&A, Web Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

