I Told On Myself

A quick Sunday interview with G.L.O.C.s BECKY YAMAMOTO & GLENNIS MCMURRAY (me!) about the reading of excerpts from our upcoming solo shows on Monday [in a show entitled I TOLD ON MYSELF], unrequited love and our childhood dream jobs.  OK!

Design by Ralph Centra

Can you give us a brief description of your show and how much we can expect to see on Monday?

BECKY: So, my NEW show is about basically how after I graduated college I thought I was going to be a missionary, but instead I became a comedian. The life paths are actually really similar, especially if you’re me. So, I’ll talk about that, oh and lounge songs are involved in some way too. It’ll make sense when you see it.

GLENNIS: My show is about my move from Durango, CO to NY when I was 18 and my quest to be “GREAT.”  I end up dating a celebrity which is not at all what you expect it to be.  I’ll be reading/performing the opening third of my show up through the first song.  Oh and it’s a musical with original music composed by the D*ck in a Box composer, Katreese Barnes!

What has been the hardest part about the writing process with something so personal?

BECKY: Well, my number one enemy is Facebook. Number two, food. Number three kitten videos on YouTube. Number four enemy, me. But really, it’s just hard to talk about stuff I’ve never really talked about in front of people before. And especially with like religion, it’s such a touchy subject, and I don’t want to talk about anything in a pat way but I also don’t want to alienate or bore people.

GLENNIS: The hardest part for me has been writing my own experiences.  I’ve spent my entire life trying to figure out what everyone else wants so to write this show in my own voice has been hard but really satisfying.  It’s also been difficult not bringing therapy on stage.  I don’t want to have to pay the audience for listening!

Since we’re being honest about stuff in our shows, share a story of unrequited love in Junior High.

BECKY: I had this crush on a guy named Tom who had toothpick legs. He was from Canada and had this Canadian mystique. I think he played hockey or some shit. I tried to get his attention by pulling his seat out from under him when he went to sit down. He wasn’t amused and got back at me by putting a “kick me” sign on my back. The violins should start now.

GLENNIS: There was this guy I was just mad for.  He had this shaggy blond hair and I thought he hung the moon.  Word got around that I was in love with him and one night he called to ask if I wanted to eat with him the next day in the cafeteria.  DID I??  I was up at 5am getting ready.  When I got to the cafeteria his entire table, the rich popular kids, were  looking in my direction stifling laughter.  Thankfully I was pretty astute so I brushed right past them with my head held high.  (And then cried in the bathroom.)

What was your dream job when you were a kid?

BECKY: I wanted to be either a tap dancer or in an Esther Williams show. But I can’t dance and I swim like a cat in water.

GLENNIS: Hey I wanted to tap dance too!  But I wanted to be like Shirley Temple and tap dance with a friendly old black man.  I was obsessed with her movies.  She could do a tap down a flight of stairs in a single take.  I can’t even walk down a flight of stairs without fearing I’ll trip and break my teeth. (tap tap tap – that’s the sound of my teeth fall down the stairs)

I TOLD ON MYSELF, excerpts from our upcoming solo shows, starts at 8pm on Monday, Dec 6 at Legion Bar [790 Metropolitan Avenue] in Williamsburg.

[Reservations: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=167466273293533]

JESUS AIN’T NO SHOWBOAT (But I Am)
Written & performed by Becky Yamamoto
Directed by Meghann Finn

DISCO BALLS: INTO THE LIGHT
The Quest To Be Fabulousballs
Written & performed by Glennis McMurray
Directed by Kate Tellers

About Admin

Founder/Executive Editor at G.L.O.C., co-creator of Dance Dance Party Party, performer, lover, den mother, certain to bust a mean move in your direct vicinity.
This entry was posted in New York City, Q&A, Solo Shows and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

